The Country Music Association of Ontario: 2020 CMA Nominees

The Country Music Association of Ontario

Announces 2020 CMAOntario Awards Nominees

Meghan Patrick and The Reklaws
Lead In Nominations with Six Nominations Each
Followed by James Barker Band with Five Nominations
plus Tim Hicks and Tebey with Four Nominations

Carroll Baker to Receive Impact Award

The Country Music Association of Ontario (CMAOntario) announces the nominees for the 8th Annual CMAOntario Awards taking place Sunday, October 4, 2020 at Centennial Hall in London. Leading the nominations are 12 time CMAOntario Award winner Meghan Patrick, and two time CMAOntario Award winners The Reklaws, with six nominations each.

Hosted by Jason McCoy and Jennifer Campbell, the 8th Annual CMAOntario Awards, presented by Slaight Music with support from Ontario Creates, will celebrate the talent and achievements of Ontario’s country music industry across 19 categories including the Impact Award, Nielsen Compass Award, and Holly and Steve Kassay Generous Spirit Award.

The Final Nominees for the 8th Annual CMAOntario Awards are:

SINGLE OF THE YEAR sponsored by Pure Country 106

“If You Met Me First” – Eric Ethridge

“Keep it Simple” – James Barker Band

“Old Country Soul” – The Reklaws

“What A Song Should Do” – Tim Hicks

“Wild As Me” – Meghan Patrick



Big Deal – The Western Swing Authority

Cain – Andrew Hyatt

Freshman Year – The Reklaws

Singles Only – James Barker Band

Wild As Me – Meghan Patrick



Jessica Mitchell – “Somebody Gonna Get Hurt”, recorded by Jessica Mitchell featuring Tim Hicks

Meghan Patrick, Jordan Rager, Michael Whitworth – “Wild As Me”, recorded by Meghan Patrick

Stuart Walker, Jenna Walker, Brad Rempel, Ben Stennis – “I Do Too”, recorded by The Reklaws

Tebey Ottoh, Kylie Sackley, Matt Rogers – “The Good Ones”, recorded by Tebey & Marie Mai

Tim Hicks, Emma-Lee, Karen Kosowski – “What A Song Should Do”, recorded by Tim Hicks


FEMALE ARTIST OF THE YEAR sponsored by Spring Tree Farm

Genevieve Fisher

Jessica Mitchell

Leah Daniels

Meghan Patrick

Nicole Rayy

Tianna Woods



Aaron Allen

Andrew Hyatt

Eric Ethridge

Jade Eagleson

Jim Cuddy

Tim Hicks


GROUP OR DUO OF THE YEAR sponsored by Country 103

James Barker Band

Jess and Tay

The Abrams

The Reklaws

The Western Swing Authority


ROOTS ARTIST OR GROUP OF THE YEAR sponsored by Skelton Truck Lines

Jessica Mitchell

Kelly Prescott

The Abrams

The Redhill Valleys

The Western Swing Authority



Edouard Landry

Kristine St-Pierre

Les Rats D’Swompe

Reney Ray

Stef Paquette


RISING STAR AWARD sponsored by Slaight Music

Aaron Allen

Alli Walker

David Boyd Janes

Dustin Bird

Kelsi Mayne



“Feels Like That” – The Reklaws

“If You Met Me First” – Eric Ethridge

“Keep It Simple” – James Barker Band

“The Good Ones” – Tebey & Marie Mai

“ToGetHer” – Leah Daniels

“Wild as Me” – Meghan Patrick


FANS’ CHOICE sponsored by Ontario Creates

Jade Eagleson

James Barker Band

Meghan Patrick


The Reklaws

Tim Hicks


RECORD PRODUCER(S) OF THE YEAR sponsored by Metalworks Recording Studios

J.R. Hutt – Giselle Sanderson, Jamie Warren, Rebekah Stevens, Sean Hogan, Tianna Woods

Jason Barry – Amanda Jordan, Charlie Major, Josh David, Western Swing Authority, Billy Ray Cyrus

Jeff Dalziel – Aaron Allen, The Abrams, Dan Davidson, Chris Labelle, Ryan Langdon

Mark Schroor & Erik Fintelman – David Boyd Janes, Robyn Ottolini, Emily Clair

Tebey Ottoh & Danick Dupelle – Tebey & Marie Mai



Dave Woods, In the Country

Johnathan Smalley, Rock N Horse

KT Timmermans, Country 103/Manitoulin Country Fest

Ron Kitchener, RGK Entertainment

Shannon Ella, Pure Country/Complete Country



CHKX KX 947, Hamilton

CJBX Pure Country 93, London

CJKX KX96, Oshawa

CKBY Country 101.1, Ottawa

CKDK NEW Country 104, Woodstock


RADIO STATION OF THE YEAR (MEDIUM MARKET) sponsored by Lucknow’s Music in the Fields

CFCO Country 92.9, Chatham

CHCQ-FM Cool 100.1 FM, Belleville

CICS Pure Country 91.7, Sudbury

CJQM-FM Country 104.3, Sault Ste Marie

CKXC Country 93.5, Kingston



CHAW Country 103, Little Current

CICX Pure Country 106, Orillia

CJDL-FM Country 107.3, Tillsonburg

CKYC Country 93, Owen Sound

CKYY Country 89, Welland


As part of the evening’s honours, Carroll Baker, an ambassador of Canadian country music, will receive the 2020 Impact Award.

“The CMAOntario is thrilled to be honouring Carroll,” said CMAOntario President Steve Kassay. “Her presence and career achievements have helped pave the way for country singers in this country. It’s about time Carroll’s career takes the centre stage spotlight.”

Known as Canada’s First Lady Of Country Music, Carroll Baker epitomizes every value that has made country music the enduring form that it is: honesty, reality, genuine feeling, hard work, love, family, friendship and respect for others. With a career spanning more than 40 years, she has achieved more than 20 number one records, 12 of which were consecutive. Carroll was the first Canadian Country music performer to be awarded gold record certification and has since received Gold and Platinum records in certified sales in both Canada and Australia. Her catalog comprises more than fifty recorded compositions, including, “Tonight with Love”, “Why I Had to Pass this Way”, “It’s My Party”, “It’s Late I Have to Go”, “Hooked on a Feeling”, “Love Triangle” and “Dreamin’ Ain’t Cheatin'”. Her composition “I’m An Old Rock ‘N Roller” was a country chart hit in 1984 for Tom Jones.

Carroll is an inductee of the Canadian Country Music Hall of Fame and Nova Scotia Country Music Hall of Fame; recipient of a Lifetime Achievement Award from both the Province of Nova Scotia and Province of Ontario; multiple winner of JUNO, CCMA and SOCAN/BMI awards; and in 2009, appointed a Member of the Order of Canada. A woman of many firsts, she made the history books in Canada when she became the first Canadian performer to do a television special from Nashville, Tennessee and the stage of the Grand Ole Opry House, followed by her own special on The Nashville Network titled “Carroll Baker’s New Country”, and the first Canadian country singer to perform on the JUNO Awards. She hosted her own TV series for CBC TV along with multiple television specials for CBC and CTV.

The CMAOntario Impact Award recognizes an artist, group, industry personality or company/organization that has left an enduring and indelibly positive footprint on the landscape of country music in Ontario. Previous recipients include The Good Brothers, Michelle Wright, Blue Rodeo, Prairie Oyster, Paula Chopik and Ed Leslie (producers of Havelock Country Jamboree) and Gordon Lightfoot.

Voting for the awards is restricted to CMAOntario members, with the exception of the Fans’ Choice award, which is open to both public and membership voting. Eligible members will have the opportunity to vote on the final ballot as of today up until May 6, 2020.

Music fans can cast their votes for the Fans’ Choice award between May 1 – May 31, 2020 at

The CMAOntario Award Show will close out the CMAOntario Festival & Awards Weekend in London October 1 – 4, 2020.

The CMAOntario Awards are presented by Slaight Music with support from Ontario Creates.


CMAOntario Award Show
Sunday, October 4, 2020 at 7pm
Centennial Hall
550 Wellington St., London, Ontario
Tickets are $69 – $225 (plus HST and fees) and are available
online at or by phone at 1.888.999.8980

CMAOntario Festival & Awards Weekend
October 1 – 4, 2020
London, Ontario

Facebook / Twitter / Instagram: @theCMAOntario

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.